The Pi Trademark Zazzle Follow Up

May 31, 2014 at 3:14 am 3 comments

Well, looks like Zazzle is re-instating our pi designs.

I wrote them a reply to the take down notice like everyone else did that night explaining my reasoning for being annoyed about getting a letter (which I detailed in my previous blog entry). Today, I got an email back from them saying that they had re-examined the whole thing and were putting back our pi designs over the course the next few hours. Apparently, a social media storm of angry users can get a lot done!

Anyway, I’m happy that they did listen to all the sellers and came to the realization that it was a totally ridiculous claim. I just hope they examine these notices a little closer next time.

And yeah, cause I base my whole business on puns, I couldn’t resist whipping up this sketch which I think needs to go into my Zazzle shop 🙂

humble pie punny sketch

A quick little pun sketch.

Entry filed under: Informational. Tags: , , , , .

How Not to Use a Trademark: Zazzle Says No Pi Print on Demand: Zazzle

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jez Kemp (@jezkemp)  |  May 31, 2014 at 3:26 am

    Nice sketch 🙂
    Ideally I would like to think they were always going to review the situation, and were always going to realise it was a bogus claim. But realistically I think if we had not complained to them directly and posted on the wider internet, they would have sat back and taken the path of least resistance.
    Funny now that the internet seems to be waking up and sharing Dave Ex Machina’s blog post, after the event!

    Reply
    • 2. kimchikawaii  |  May 31, 2014 at 7:59 pm

      Yeah, I agree that if there hadn’t been such a rise in social media outrage there probably wouldn’t have been any review.

      I’m so going to vector this sketch and put it in my shops…

      Reply
  • […] The Pi Trademark Zazzle Follow Up […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other subscribers