Why Invest in a Kickstarter Project?

August 18, 2014 at 8:13 pm Leave a comment

Sweet Dreams Plushie Kickstarter

I am currently running my Kickstarter to fund full manufacture of my Sweet Dreams Strawberry plush. I’ve been trying to keep up with hand crafting production, but it’s been tough with the fact that I’m a business of one AND working a full time job (still dreaming and working towards doing this full time). The minimum order of manufactured plush is 500 and that adds up pretty quickly, along with overseas shipping. So that’s why I’ve turned to Kickstarter to hopefully crowd fund my project.

Promoting the Kickstarter at my table.

Promoting the Kickstarter at my table.

For those of you not familiar with Kickstarter and how it works here’s a quick run down. People post projects there that have a set funding goal and a deadline to reach full funding by (mine is Sept. 9, 2014). People can pledge to help out the project at various levels that are set by the creator, but no money exchanges hands until successful end of the campaign. Often, there are rewards offered at each level, many of them exclusives to the project to further entice pledging. If the project fully funds by the deadline, then everything goes in to production and the pledges are collected. Rewards are sent out by the creator within the time frame stated.

If funding is unsuccessful at the end, then no money exchanges hands. And sadly, this often means that the product doesn’t go into production.

I ran a project earlier this year to fund some other plush – ice cream sandwich panda bears.Funding was unsuccessful so that was the end of that as I couldn’t afford to pay for manufacture on my own. However, I got a lot of people asking where the panda bars were and when I would post them for sale both online and at my artist alley tables.

So this brings me to reason 1 why you should pledge:

Without people like you, it won’t happen!

If you really want to see these for sale in future venues, I’ll need the help either through pledging or helping to spread the word to potential pledgers to get these fully funded. Don’t assume that everyone else will take care of it! If everyone is assuming that everyone else will pledge, that means we end up with zero movement.

Reason 2: Price per item will go down!

I’ve been hand crafting the strawberries and as stated above, it’s a lot of work and time invested. I’ve been selling them for $30 to cover materials and labor. I know that can make some people wince, especially when they can get a mass produced plushie that’s larger for that same amount. If I can outsource these, I’ll be able to drop the price to $20.Sweet Dreams Plush Kickstarter. Did you know? Income from plush sales will be re-invested into new products to sell in the future!

Reason 3: It helps a small business grow!

Plushies are very popular. I mean, who doesn’t love cute plushies to hug? I’m trying to take my business to the next level and plushies can bring in the income needed for me to grow. I intend to use this Kickstarter in the purest sense of the word – to kickstart things. I just need that little boost to start the momentum. I fully intend to take profits from plush sold to reinvest in more cool products for Kimchi Kawaii.

Reason 4: There are exclusive items!

Many of the backer rewards are getting a lot of oohs and aahs. Remember, these will NOT be sold after the Kickstarter closes. So get them while you can. And some of them are only in limited quantities.

Reason 5: There is a really cool stretch goal!

Stretch goals are something that open up once the primary project is funded before time runs out. I have my tiger mascot, Roary as a stretch goal for this one, but we can’t work on him til the strawberry fully funds.

So there are my main reasons to pledge for my Kickstarter (and many of them apply to ANY Kickstarter/crowdfunding project). A lot of us are just small time, independent artists without a huge corporation backing us, but our dreams can be just as big.

If you can’t contribute financially, I hope you’ll help spread the word over social media or by word of mouth. Getting the word out is also a step along the road to a successful Kickstarter.

Let’s make the dream come true!

Entry filed under: Informational. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Otakon 2014: Artist Alley Review SacAnime Summer 2014

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

