Shop Different, Shop Small!

October 18, 2013 at 2:23 am 2 comments

Shop small, it's a big deal!

I saw a friend’s post in my Facebook newsfeed the other day talking about how the Black Friday ads are already being leaked. I’m seeing Christmas stuff in the stores already even though we are still two weeks away from Halloween. Yep, that time of year is rapidly approaching where stores are going to be frantically begging for your money.

I’m not trying to rush things here, but I just want to plant a little seed. This year, consider supporting a small business or independent artist. Ever since I started my own business under the name Kimchi Kawaii, this has taken on a whole new meaning to me. I admit, in the beginning, when I went to anime cons as an attendee, I would spend most of my money in the dealer’s room buying the mass produced items sent over from China.

And then I found the artist alley.

And then I started my own business.

Now, I spend most of my money supporting fellow artists. I know what it’s like to have someone come up to your table and like your items enough to give you money for it! Even though I’ve done a bunch of cons at this point, it’s still rather humbling. I also really like how I can find unique items there, often better crafted than the mass produced items.

I know that not everyone can go or wants to go to an anime con, but this is the digital age! Independent artists and small businesses are easier to find and support than ever. Check out sites like Storenvy, Etsy or Art Fire for artist’s shops. Visit your local craft faire!

Commercials from big companies will make it look like their items are THE items you must have to be ‘in’ this holiday season. I challenge you to be unique! Giving items from artisans and small businesses can be so much more rewarding. You’re recipient will get something that is often one of a kind or made with loving care. The small business or artist will be given the means to continue doing what they love and bringing more unique creations to the world.

**I’m going to start doing features of shops and artists who I’ve personally bought from or have a working relationship with. Stay tuned and you may find that perfect present for a friend or family member!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Artist Alley Con Review: Anime Weekend Atlanta 2013 Thanksgiving Pie

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. D C Highway  |  January 26, 2014 at 4:29 am

    whoah this blog is great i really like reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! You know, lots of people are hunting
    around for this info, you could help them greatly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

