Five Year Old Kimchi: Part 3 – How Art Thou?

August 20, 2013 at 2:27 am Leave a comment

Then and now comparison of my Soy Happy design which was one of my first designs.

Then and now comparison of my Soy Happy design which was one of my first designs. I did a v. 2.0 in 2012.

Soy Happy Together was one of the first designs I ever did for Kimchi Kawaii. Originally, it was to serve as my logo and a stand alone piece, but that all had to change when I had to change the business name from Soy Happy to the current name. Anyway, I’ve been drawing kawaii designs now for 5 years. I use Illustrator because I love the way you can scale vector pieces and not lose resolution as happens with rasterized artwork. It’s gotten to the point where I’m so familiar with it that I know the keyboard shortcuts, but can’t find the stuff in the menus, lol! And yet, I’m still learning a lot about the program.

In 2012, I decided to revisit the Soy Happy design just to have a comparison on how much I’ve improved on my Illustrator artwork. It was a really fun little experiment. I’ve since uploaded the new one to the shops and have been working on slowly phasing out the old (and I must say, rather embarrassing) design. I’m trying to hold back the perfectionist in me who wants to go back and revamp some of my other older designs that still remain popular.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Five Year Old Kimchi: Part 2 – What’s in a Name? Japan Expo USA is Right Around the Corner!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

