Five Year Old Kimchi: Part 2 – What’s in a Name?

August 15, 2013 at 6:30 am Leave a comment

Original design for the first promo card when I was working under Soy Happy.

Original design for the first promo card when I was working under Soy Happy.

When I first started the business, I chose the name Soy Happy. It came from one of my first designs of a happy soy sauce bottle and happy sushi sitting together. Wanting to be ‘legit’ I quickly made promotional post cards with my shop name and link on Cafe Press. I had done promo cards like this before at my full time job, but this was exciting for me cause they were going to be MINE and about MY shop! I operated under this name for about a year and then discovered that there is so much more to picking a business name than just randomly selecting a phrase or words what you like.

One day, I got an email from another business who said that they actually owned the trademark to Soy Happy. They were totally polite about it, but I was still kind of upset that a whole year’s worth of promoting was going down the drain. This was my introduction the US Patent and Trademark Office’s site. I checked their database search and sure enough, this person was for real so it was back to the drawing board for me. Since my marketing efforts had largely fallen short, I wasn’t totally heartbroken.

Second Promo Card

This was my second promo card made for when I changed to Kimchi Kawaii.

So I started brainstorming again and eventually came up with Kimchi Kawaii, the name I’ve stuck with ever since. I like this one so much better. It represents my Korean heritage and pulls in the Japanese ‘cute’ inspiration in the use of the word ‘kawaii’. Plus, I’m just a sucker for alliteration, lol! I changed the name of my shops (I had now jumped on board with Zazzle in addition to Cafe Press), and also purchased my domain name. I also filed for my trademark once I had sold at a few anime cons and had some money to afford it (trademarking isn’t cheap).

I came up with a new mascot, my Korean tiger who was named Roary through a fan contest I held on Facebook. Originally, he was sitting in the lucky cat pose with one paw up and one on a traditional kimchi jar, but no one knew what that was. I also wanted something more lively and dynamic to represent my artwork. I knew I wanted to do other pieces with Roary in them, not just reserve him as a logo for business cards only. One day, I did a design with Roary leaping in the air and looking totally happy. I liked it so much that I now use that on all my promotional stuff like my business cards, banners and social media imagery.

About two years ago, I found that I was doing a lot of sweets crafts in addition to my digital art designs. It was becoming a bit hard to market them as those appealed to a different crowd than my punny art. I decided to split the crafts part off into a sub brand under the name Frosted Fleur de Lis. When I got the new website done, Fleur got it’s own sub-page. I also created a FB page for it and a new business card design which I currently print on the backside of my Kimchi cards.

So there is the break down of my name and why I have this other brand that I mention from time to time. I don’t anticipate any more splits, mostly cause I have my hands full keeping up with just these two!

This is the current business card for Kimchi Kawaii.

This is the current business card for Kimchi Kawaii.

Frosted Fleur de Lis Business Card

Frosted Fleur de Lis Business Card

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Giveaways on My Facebook Pages! Five Year Old Kimchi: Part 3 – How Art Thou?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

