Let’s Hear it for the Boys

January 26, 2013 at 12:21 am Leave a comment

Apparently, once a New Kids fan, always a New Kids fan. This morning when I logged in to Facebook, I had a few friends (children of the 80’s unite!) who had posted about the new NKOTB tour and album coming out. I must admit, I got really excited and spent some time geeking out with them. It’s kind of crazy how just one little entry in my newsfeed could take me back to my teenage years.

I drew this one some time in jr. high. I think it was around the Step by Step time.

I drew this one some time in jr. high. I think it was around the Step by Step time.

When I was growing up, I was a HUGE New Kids on the Block fan. Jordan Knight was my favorite. He’s still got it going on. I’ve always loved drawing so I borrowed the teeny bopper magazines from my friends and drew pictures of Jordan and plastered my walls with them. It’s actually how I learned human proportions and portrait drawing. I also learned how to shade facial features and make skin tones with colored pencil. Some of my friends from jr. high told me that they still have the pictures I drew of their favorite New Kids, which I think is pretty cool!

I had all the dolls. I made clothes for them. I even made a replica of their stage. I watched the NKOTB Saturday morning cartoon. I had all their albums on either cassette tape or CD (still do, actually). I watched their videos and specials on HBO and Disney. I got super annoyed when they cut away from their Super Bowl halftime show to cover Desert Storm – hey, I was a teenager, what I thought was worthy of coverage was a little different than what everyone else thought! I dreamed of going to their concerts. I even dressed as Jordan for Halloween one year (no one got it, obviously).

Then, I grew up and moved away to college. And found that one of my roommates had also been a huge New Kids fan. Cue the fangirling all over again. About that time, Jordan Knight came out with his first solo album and was doing a publicity tour. One of the stops was in the city closest to us. She got to go meet him. I was stuck working in the grocery store deli. She took a picture of him and gave it to me though πŸ™‚ We pretty much fed off each other’s boyband obsession all through college. We both moved to Nsync when they came out in the late 90’s, but the New Kids were still always there. You never forget your first, lol!

I drew this one in college, probably when I should have been studying other things than Jordan :)

I drew this one in college, probably when I should have been studying other things than Jordan πŸ™‚

And now, here I sit, years out of college feeling the excitement of a teenager all over again at the mention of NKOTB. Let me add to the nerd/geek factor here: I looked up their tour dates and alas, I won’t be able to go to their show once again as their CA dates correspond to when I will be attending Anime Expo and selling in the Artist Alley which is right next door to the Staples Center. The fangirl in me is already thinking how cool it is that I will be sitting there in the convention hall with Jordan practically right next door and fantasizing that they sneak into AX and stop at my table. Ok, need to return back to earth here.

Now excuse me, I need to go draw a picture of Jordan. You know, ’cause my non-anime face portrait drawing skills are getting rusty or something like that. πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Other Life Outside Kimchi Kawaii, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Artist Alley Checklist Part 2: Setting Up a Table – The Pretty Stuff Artist Alley Checklist Part 3: Items to Bring (and make your life easier)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


