Something Scary This Way Comes…

October 7, 2012 at 6:52 am Leave a comment

File this under: The Internet Just Got Weirder.

Scary Bread lives at the end of the Rainbow of Awesome. 🙂

Yes, that is a REAL piece of bread. A piece that never molded. Ever. It’s overdue to a visit to the Happy Bakery in the Sky by about three years and still shows no intent of leaving. I bought a loaf of bread around Easter over three years ago. I shall leave the store name out of this since I don’t want to get in trouble cause I’m guessing that announcing that Store X’s bread doesn’t mold isn’t very flattering to them. For whatever reason, I ate about half the loaf and then didn’t get to the second half. Then I noticed that even though it was overdue, it wasn’t showing any sign of decomposing. So it turned into an office science experiment. Some of my coworkers found out about it and soon, people were checking in to see if the bread was still around. We gave it a name and you know, once you’ve given something a name, it’s family. Thus, Scary Bread was born.

At first, Scary just sat at my desk and stared scarily at everyone who passed by. Then, on the anniversary of its second year, I decided to make a little birthday party scene for it and post the pictures on FB to share with my friends who all knew about Scary Bread by now. I used scratch paper and quickly threw something together during my lunch break. It was pretty fun to do and people really liked it, so I started doing other Scary Bread scenes.

This August, I created a FB page to house all of Scary Bread’s adventures in one spot. The thing that makes me lol about it is that out of all my FB pages I maintain (two others for my business – Kimchi Kawaii and it’s sub-brand Frosted Fleur de Lis), Scary Bread is reaching the highest percentage of people. Post stats actually show me reaching MORE than just the fans on the page. Currently, Scary Bread has 67 fans. Often, my posts reach 100+. On my serious art pages, I reach less than 10% of my fan base. Maybe I need to just focus on my piece of undead bread…

All these years and Scary Bread still captivates. Recently, some volunteers were in my office who had just started a few weeks ago. One of them noticed Scary sitting in its ‘apartment’ at my desk:

Volunteer: “What’s THAT???”
Me: “That’s Scary Bread. It never molded.”
Volunteer: “That’s awesome! Can I take a picture of it?”

Scary Bread’s PSA: get out and vote!

If you are interested in following the quirky adventures of Scary Bread, pics are posted to either the Facebook page or the Tumblr page (that one less often). It’s full of intentionally tackily done art (scratch paper and sharpies-done in under an hour), bad puns and sometimes takes on current events. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Take Me Out to the Ballgame Small Businesses Need You!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

