Fortune Cookie Says…

March 1, 2012 at 10:48 am Leave a comment

*NOTE: This is a repost from my journal on deviantART. I originally wrote this late in 2011, but some of it still applies and I know not everyone has deviantART accounts.

Was out with my friend the other night and my fortune cookie said ‘Now is the time to set your sights high and go for it’. I really liked that one and saved it. Kinda coincided with my thought process and plans for Kimchi. There’s about a month and a half left in 2011 and I’ve seen growth in my shops on both Cafe Press and Zazzle, but I want to take it up to the next level in 2012. It will be the Year of the Dragon (which is my year and I’ve always loved dragons). I had some set backs and stuff this year that prevented me from opening the online craft part, but the goal is to get all my ducks lined up in a row so that I can start 2012 off with a bang (not that my life really ever is that slow anyway). I’ll be selling at Anime Expo for the first time ever and hoping to sell at Fanime (reg just isn’t up yet) again. I would like to find some other cons and I think that with some marketing and careful budgeting, I can do this.

Sometimes, I get kinda depressed at how slow things are progressing and when I see people on here who can do art full time and have like 1,000 fans on their FB page and loyal customers. But my friend was reminding me that often, we don’t see how far we’ve come and only see (or think we see) how we aren’t measuring up to everyone else. I just need to remember that everyone’s situation is different and do the best that I can in MY situation. I work full time, I’m single and I’m financing this whole thing completely on my own with some very careful money managing. I guess when you look at it that way, it’s pretty good that I’ve gotten done what I have so far! So will just keep plugging away at balancing shop management and creating new things.

Here are some of my goals, hopes and dreams for ‘setting my sights high’:
• FINALLY get the online shop up
• Redesign my website and take a much more active roll in keeping it updated
• Am experimenting with hand sewing some of my designs into felt plushies.
• Did you know that I have 91 files in my ‘Sketches’ folder? That’s where I put all digital pictures I take of my sketch book pages so that I can use them as templates for my designs further down the road. And most of those files actually have 2-3 sketches on one page. So have LOTS of ideas still waiting to be completed
• Finalizing guidelines and prices and opening up commissions on dA finally.

Am already planning on using my Christmas break to get as much art done as I can!

(And no, I’m not caffeinated right now :) Just feeling some fierce determination to make Kimchi a name that people recognize) =D

Thanks for listening (reading) my random ramblings….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Stop De-valuing Artists! Shop Open!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


