Single, Won’t Settle

February 14, 2011 at 3:51 pm Leave a comment

I must admit, I am not really a fan of Valentine’s day. I know that people say that it doesn’t have to be all about romantic love, that you can celebrate the love of your family and friends, but if you look at the media and marketing that bombards us constantly, it just seems like a day made to make us single people feel like we weren’t invited to the party. I guess I kinda feel about Vday like a lot of people feel about Christmas – bah, humbug!

I came up with this design for Cafe Press’s Anti-Valentine’s day design contest. By the way, that’s a praying mantis, NOT a ‘sexy grasshopper’ like one of my friends said (everyone’s a critic). I’m not saying I’m completely against dating, I just am not going to give up who I am, my values and morals just to snag a guy so I can avoid the ‘stigma’ of being single. In other words, I’m not gonna settle for just any guy! I’ve seen so many women who will just latch on to a guy, even though he’s totally wrong for them (nothing in common, doesn’t share some of the same important values, emotionally abusive, you name it), but they will fight tooth and nail to fool themselves that they are happy. It’s sad that to them, being single is a worse fate than being totally unhappy in the relationship they are in. Sometimes I get so mad at the media who projects this image that women are only complete with a guy. ‘What’s wrong with waiting for someone who is worth my time and my heart?’, I want to yell back at all the magazines that have all these tips to snag a guy, seduce him, keep him and often, find out if he’s cheating.

That said, I can’t help but feel a twinge of loneliness around this time of year when everything is ‘have that gift for your special someone?’ or all about romantic getaways. Maybe some day, I’ll find that special guy who is right for me and this won’t be an issue any more each February. I remember a few years ago, I came across an article where they interviewed Michael Buble and asked him if he had any advice for the singles out there on Vday and he said something the effect of ‘there are plenty of people out there in relationships right now who are wishing they were single’.

You go Michael, you go boy! 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Pardon My Dust…. Blog Slacker

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

