Follow the Green Fairy

February 11, 2011 at 1:40 pm 3 comments

This was my third Copic marker piece. I really wish I had a better way to scan things, the colors aren’t as vibrant on here. Oh well.

Anyway, this is actually my second piece with the Green Fairy as a subject. My first one was a colored pencil I did a few years ago with the fairy dressed in a ballerina’s dress in the style of Degas’ dancers. Absinthe was widely used during the time of the Impressionists and I’m sure the artists weren’t exempt! Mostly I wanted to do another one with the markers because I wanted to experiment how all my greens would work and I liked the challenge of figuring out what greens to use for shading on her skin. It was a fun piece to do and I’m really happy with the way it came out.

I have actually started posting some of my traditional art in the Zazzle shop. This design can be found at this link.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Back in the Game Pardon My Dust….

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kiorte  |  March 18, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    Your third copic artwok, sure? It looks great. The shading is very well. I like how you colored the fairies hair and wings. Why do you wish to scan your images better? I think the colors are fine.

    Reply
    • 2. hollyguenther  |  March 30, 2012 at 4:15 am

      Thank you for the compliments. It’s not as bad on this one, but the colors are still a bit muted vs. the original. The scanner REALLY hates pinks and reds.

      Reply
      • 3. Kiorte  |  April 1, 2012 at 7:51 pm

        My scanner does so too ^-^

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

