Back in the Game

February 10, 2011 at 11:24 am Leave a comment

My posts started getting a bit spare here. I was walloped up side the head with a lovely bug that’s going around my home town. It’s a nasty one that lingers for what seems like forever. I would almost rather have the flu, at least that just hits you like a truck and then keeps on going. I’ve heard this thing can take about 3 weeks to fully get over. All I know is that I missed nearly a week of work and had no energy to do anything other than lay on the couch and watch cheesy chick flicks and ‘The Office’. I didn’t even have energy to do any art. Today is the first day that I actually feel 90% human again. I still have this nasty lingering cough, but that always takes the longest to get rid of. It’s mostly just a waiting game at this point and hoping I don’t hack up any vital organs in the meantime.

I’ve been itching to get back to art again and so tonight, cut off the DVD (even though it’s the finale of Project Runway) and jumped onto Illustrator and this is what I came up with – Happy Flan! I’ve noticed that flan is a frequent subject in kawaii art. I really have no idea why. I decided I wanted to give it a go – mostly cause I wanted to experiment with some effects to make the flan sauce look authentic. It was pretty fun to do and I’m really happy with the way it came out. This is the first completed design that I did purely on the computer. Usually, I sketch out my stuff first old skool style with pen and paper and then scan it in to use as a template in Illustrator. Sometimes, I just can’t wrap my mind around the whole vectors thing. It’s been uploaded to both shops already if you are curious to check it out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Wanna Follow? Follow the Green Fairy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


