Copic Mania Part 2

February 1, 2011 at 11:46 am Leave a comment

This is my second Copic marker piece. I’ve always loved Alice in Wonderland (the general story, not just the Disney versions) and thought it would be fun to do an anime style Mad Hatter. I worked on my shadows more on this one. One of the groups who declined my Chun Li submission on deviantART said that I needed to bring in more contrast. This one also served a dual purpose. In Japanese anime, there are often these pretty boys/men who are called bishounen. They are everywhere! I really want to improve my bishie (as they are called for short) skills cause I always feel that my attempts are always slightly off. So Mad Hatter was also a chance to practice my bishie skills. It’s not where I want to be, but it’s getting closer.

Someone on deviantART commented on the blue hair. I chose blue cause a) I wanted to get as far away as possible from any reference to the Johnny Depp version (not that I didn’t like it, but I didn’t want people to think I just did a Johnny characterization) and b) cause it’s one of my crazy wishes to some day have a full head of long, blue hair. I have a wedding in June that I’ll be participating in so I’m thinking that the blue hair will have to hold off til later this summer if I do finally do it 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Copic Mania! Year of the Rabbit

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


