Lenore Finished!

January 29, 2011 at 12:17 pm Leave a comment

You may or may not remember about a week ago my WIP posting. Here is the completed piece. I’m really happy with the way it came out. The woman is my interpretation of Lenore, the lost love of the narrator in Poe’s ‘The Raven’. I decided to make her as kind of a dark, Victorian angel with raven wings. The plants around her are Jimson weed, which are members of the datura family. This group of plants’ claim to fame is how when ingested, they can cause delirium and the inability to distinguish reality from fantasy (from Wikipedia entry, original article is here). As I was basing this picture on art nouveau style and those pieces are often packed with botanical detail, I knew I needed something in the background, but didn’t want to just throw in some random plant to serve merely as filler. I did some searching on Google which I’m sure would make anyone wonder what I was up to if they looked at my browser history. Words and terms like ‘poisonous plants’, ‘fatal plants’, ‘Victorian plant meanings’ and ‘hallucinogenic plants’ were all entered into search. I had vaguely remembered my horticulture friend, Anne telling me about jimson weed one time when we were walking through the nearby Arboretum and how it was known to cause hallucinations. Since I also liked the appearance of the plant (in the end, I am into making something pretty), I decided to use it…for the drawing that is, not for myself! The delirium inducing qualities of datura fit perfectly with the tone of the poem where the narrator seems to spiral into insanity.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Pho Real! Where’s the Kawaii??

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


