Ramen: The Fuel of College Students

January 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm Leave a comment

Ah college, the fun time with friends, the late night cram sessions for the final that you procrastinated studying for, the parties, the food. I know that most people think of dorm food on par with the worst discount airline food or something, but I was actually pretty lucky to have really good dorm food. My friends and I actually looked forward to meals in the dining commons. I’m not kidding, we were often waiting at the door like that lady in the old Mervyn’s commercials who was eagerly looking through the glass and saying ‘open, open’. I loved the salad bar, but our favorite was the mongolian bbq they had there. That was awesome. Mongolian bbq nearly every night of the week! And nope, didn’t really get tired of it either.

But alas, all good things must come to an end. Before we knew it, freshman year was over and we were out to fend for ourselves. Enter the ramen. I’ve always liked ramen. I know that it’s totally unhealthy (especially if you eat 2 packs in one meal like I do), but there is something about the salty goodness that cooks in just 2 minutes. One of the traditions around my house growing up was to come home from church and dad would make a big pot of ramen with some eggs dropped in. I would happily slurp up my noodles while reading the Sunday comics. So college wasn’t my introduction to the brick of noodles in plastic, it just furthered my intake. Not only was ramen cheap (24 for $1! or something like that…), it was quick. I like my noodles just this side of undercooked. The perfect ramen method for me is to drop them into the water right off the bat, and then right before it hits full on boil, take them out. I would spend 2 minutes tops at the stove and then I could get back to what I was doing – hanging with friends or procrastinating on that paper that was due the next day.

I just had to do some ramen designs for Kimchi Kawaii. This is one of them. The other is more of the cup o’ noodles variation called ‘Hot and Steamy’ 🙂 Both designs can be found in my shops here. I actually have a few more ramen sketches waiting to be done up, but first, I think I need to go make a 2 minute dinner….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Wayward Whale Pho Real!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


