Sweet Dreams

January 19, 2011 at 5:28 pm Leave a comment

When I was working on the latest batch of fake cupcakes, I started daydreaming. It’s easy to do since I don’t have to think really hard about what I’m doing with them. One time, I was taking a batch to a friend. Since I don’t have a car, I rely a lot on public transportation and so that day was on the train with this tray of 12 cupcakes. This one couple who shared the table with me were commenting on them and one said that they were like a ‘3D Thiebaud’. For those of you who don’t know, Wayne Thiebaud is an American painter associated with the Pop art movement. One of the things he’s known for is painting desserts like cakes and pies. If you are interested in reading more about this artist, check out this link to Wikipedia.

Anyway, I love his art. If you ever get to see them in person, you will probably notice that he likes to build up thick layers of paint to add texture and on the ones of desserts, it just reminds me of frosting and I so badly want to touch it. So for someone to say that my cupcakes were like Thiebauds was definitely a compliment to me! A coworker suggested I try to see if the Crocker Art Gallery in Sacramento will sell them in the gift shop since they have a lot of Thiebaud themed things there (he’s from this area). I haven’t had a chance to look into it yet, but I when I was daydreaming the other day, I went on this little fantasy where he found them and really liked them and then told me so in an email or something. Ah yes, I do seem to have my head in the clouds a lot of the time. Maybe its the fumes from the spackle that I use for frosting….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

More of My Cupcakes :) Hoppy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

