Cirque Nouveau

December 27, 2010 at 11:17 am Leave a comment

Two things that inspire me artistically are Cirque du Soleil and Art Nouveau so I wanted to do a piece that combined both of those things.

I remember I discovered Cirque many years ago when they would do a marathon on Bravo during New Year’s Eve. I’ve never been much of a partier so New Year’s is often spent at home with either family or on my own in my apartment. I think the first one I ever saw was ‘Allegria’ and to this day, that one remains one of my favorite Cirque shows. I remember being blown away by the things they do on stage and loving the costumes and makeup. Part of me fantasizes about working for Cirque. I know it would be a ton of hard work, but to be in such a creative atmosphere would make it all worth it.

I can’t remember when I discovered Art Nouveau and latched on to it. I really like the often intricate details that the artists would pack their pieces with. I have a book on Alfonse Mucha who is considered THE artist of that movement and I never get tired of looking at all the artwork in there.

Anyway, I actually got the idea for this design not when I was watching Cirque or looking at my Mucha book, but when I was sitting on the couch watching ‘Project Runway’. Watching other people create stuff makes me want to create stuff and so I grabbed my sketchbook and started doodling while watching. Once the sketch was done, I tweaked a few things and then started on the final piece. I’ve been working on it off and on since Thanksgiving weekend and finally finished it the week before Christmas. I am really happy with the way it came out.

Done  with Prismacolor colored pencils
Original piece: 18″ x 24″ cause I’m crazy like that 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Merry Christmas Mouse in the House

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


