Pity the Poor Fruitcake

December 17, 2010 at 5:56 pm 2 comments

I never really liked fruitcake that much. Maybe I just fall pressure to society and how NO ONE in their right mind should like it. It’s the frequent butt of jokes, white elephant gifts and family lore when the same one is  passed through different branches of the family. Personally, I’ve never been a fan of those candied fruits. They were also the same reason I used to skip the spumoni ice cream at The Old Spaghetti Factory. It used to also have the candied fruit and I remember thinking, ‘this is like fruitcake in an ice-cream form, blech’. I guess others had that same feeling because I started noticing that the fruits were absent.

Anyway, despite my dislike of this holiday dessert, you still gotta feel a bit sorry for it. Everything is welcomed during the holidays. The Christmas tree gets prime real estate in your biggest window. New ornaments that are given are exclaimed over and added to the collection. Christmas cards from friends and family are eagerly opened and perused for news and updates. Then a fruitcake arrives and it’s a game of ‘who wants it?’. So I drew this design for Christmas 2009.

The funny thing about this piece is what happened when I put it up on my deviantART account recently. Suddenly, within a 12 hour period, my stats showed that it had become my most favorited (currently at 637), most commented (currently at 130) and most viewed (currently at a whopping 3,457!!) of all the designs in my gallery. I’ve had the account since August 2010 and there are some in there that only have one or two favorites and a handful of views. In the comments below the design there is a running debate between the ‘Fruitcake is Heavenly’ and ‘I Give Fruitcake to My Enemies’ sides. And then there are people who just feel sorry for it. It’s been so funny to follow! If you want to read the comments, some of which are pretty entertaining check out my deviantART page.

Someone did comment on how they are now forced to make their own each year because it’s getting harder to find in the stores. I wonder if I had homemade fruitcake if I would feel differently about this debatable dessert!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Very Good Day Cloudy with a Chance of Crafts

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. corriespondent  |  December 17, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    Nope. Homemade fruitcake is just as bad. Unless all you put in are maraschino cherries!

    Reply
  • 2. Gilda  |  December 18, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    I think there a wide assortment of fruitcakes also. Ian’s Grandpa LOVES fruitcake, but only the imported kind from Italy (he is Italian). While on the other hand you have the rock hard ones. And then there’s the one that is doused in so much alcohol (is it rum), that’s basically Rum with some fruitcake, which could be why someone people like that one (or not). Personally I don’t think I’ve really even had fruitcake, so no comment on it’s goodness or evilness. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

