Bit of a Paradox….

December 13, 2010 at 6:40 pm 2 comments

Boy, one of the downsides of being on DeviantART is being introduced to new mediums and really, really wanting to try them. Then, I do online research and find that they are really, really expensive! Kinda makes it hard for starving artists, y’know?

I’m already totally addicted to Prismacolor colored pencils. I love the smoothness and how they blend so nicely. Also love the vibrant color I can get with them. You have to pay for the quality for sure though. I’ve been in stores where the pencils are kept in a locked cabinet. As a girl who used to use Crayola colored pencils for the longest time, I was quite shocked. I mean, they are just pencils right? Recently, I was able to take advantage of an awesome sale at Michael’s where the sets were 50% off and I had a coupon that I could use for an additional 15% off that. Even though I had been planning on staying in that day and taking care of stuff around the apartment, THAT was enough to get me moving for sure! I even considered giving up 3 hours of my life to public transit (and all the crazy people that come with it). Luckily, a friend took me out there. When I was picking up my set, I saw that the most expensive one they sell is $229. I still have dreams of some huge monetary windfall and then going in there and being able to buy that box. Yes, art geek fantasies.

So anyway, the new thing I’ve learned about are Copic markers. I know, you’re thinking – ‘markers?? Like what my kid draws with on scratch paper and their siblings??? You’re kidding right?’ Like the Prismacolors they are also crazy expensive. Sigh. But they do such cool stuff. These aren’t your toddler’s drug store pens. Been researching them and looking all over the place to where I could get my hands on a few to try them out and whaddya know? Just found out this week that they have them on campus at the bookstore. They had scratch paper out and so I did a bit of a test run there in the store and they are as cool as they sound. Really annoyed that I didn’t find this out a few days earlier when they had their big holiday sale. Dangit! Add another item to my Art Geek Fantasy File.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Mmm…cookies Stickers! Yay!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. corriespondent  |  December 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I love Prismacolors, too! I was lucky enough to have a design-major older sister who passed on her colored pencils to me, although I’ve since then dropped many a pretty penny on more. I’m also lacking in the marker department… but I don’t really have a valid excuse to get any. Sigh.

    Reply
    • 2. hollyguenther  |  December 15, 2010 at 6:10 am

      Well, if I get the markers, you’ll have to come over and play with them. Artists’ play date 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


