Mmm…cookies

December 10, 2010 at 5:34 pm Leave a comment

One of  my memories of Christmas time growing up was making sugar cookies with the family. Mom would mix the dough, cut and bake it and then we kids would decorate them with colored icing and sprinkles. I made this design with that memory in mind. We had two shapes that we did – a Christmas tree and a star and we always iced them in either red or green. Of course, sometimes we got experimental and tried to make new colors by mixing the two together or trying to achieve a marbled affect. Once they were iced, we finished them off with sprinkles in either red or green. I remember the kitchen table covered with cookies in various stages of completion. I was the oldest of the kids so I was usually the last one still decorating when my brother and sis lost interest.

I still do a holiday baking each year. My friend and I get together and do a cookie marathon. In years past, I’ve stayed night at her place since she lived further away from me. This year, she’s the next city over. We were talking this weekend about what we wanted to make and if my family had any requests. We have our set favorites – cranberry orange swirls, eggnog cookies and of course sugar cookies. We also do peppermint bark, mexican wedding cakes, merrengues, and a snack mix with cheerios, m&m’s, peanuts and pretzels mixed with white chocolate. That thing is SO addictive. Last year we also threw in a cranberry nut bar and rice krispie treats. Usually, we bake for about 12 hours straight. I know, totally crazy! I think this year, we are planning a head a bit more and will make some of the dough ahead of time so that we can just pop stuff in the oven and not be stuck in the kitchen all day long.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Keep it Simple Bit of a Paradox….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

