Falling Behind…

December 3, 2010 at 4:37 pm Leave a comment

For a while, I was doing so good with lining up posts ahead of time, but then I went home for Thanksgiving and had no computer access so am a bit behind and scarce on the posts this week. I intend to get stuff back on track this weekend again.

Anyway, one of the advantages of a Thanksgiving ‘unplugged’ was that time normally spent online was freed up and once I was done crashing on Mario Kart Wii, I worked on my traditional art. I’ve kind of neglected that recently. I am doing an art challenge for 2010 of 365 drawings/sketches, but mostly it’s been sketches that then get finalized in Illustrator and put up in the shops. Currently, I don’t have a program to scan my stuff in at the higher quality to sell as prints so all traditional art that I share online is a rather poorly colored digital photo. Hopefully, I can fix that in the future with Photoshop. I would like to branch out eventually and sell my other art in addition to the Kimchi Kawaii stuff.

This piece was one of the rare few to make it out of my Art Purgatory. Usually, if they end up there, they don’t make it to finished pieces. I had done the original sketch a long time ago and on a bigger piece of paper. About a year ago, I redrew the whole thing on a smaller paper and started the coloring, but then stopped again. I took it home for Thanksgiving and finally finished it. I really happy with the way it turned out. Wish the color was better on here. Also started another, larger piece mixing Cirque du Soleil and art nouveau. It will get posted here when it’s done. Actually worked on it a bit more this evening before watching one of my Christmas movies. There’s just something about working with traditional mediums that you can’t get with only working on computer. Maybe it’s the tangible aspect of it? The holding of the pencil in your hands? Not sure, but I don’t want my traditional art to completely fall by the wayside.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Searching for Something New? Santa Claws is Comin’ to Town

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


