I Gotta Feeling…

November 22, 2010 at 5:33 pm Leave a comment

This weekend I got to hang out with my friend Anne for a kind of birthday weekend (I turn old on Tuesday). She gave me some super cute ornaments for my Christmas tree and since I couldn’t wait to hang them up, I decided to start decorating. I know that Thanksgiving hasn’t happened yet, but I am just in the mood to do so. Plus, it makes me clean the apartment. What’s the use of decorating everything really nice when you have dust on the shelves and a floor in desperate need of a vacuuming?

Decorating on Thanksgiving/right after is a bit of a tradition for me. I remember as a kid how we would eat our Thanksgiving meal in the early afternoon and then I would go up to my room and pull out my small box of decorations. It consisted of putting some construction paper decor that I had made on my door and some tinsel in the windowsill with some small Christmas items in little groupings at the ends and in the middle. Now that I have my own place, decorating is a considerably longer process.

I have a small apartment, but I also have this thing about not being taller than my Christmas tree. And since I am a pretty tall girl that means for a very tall tree! Having no way to haul home a real tree each year, I have a pre-lit fake one. When the time comes around, I drag out the box and move my main room furniture around to accommodate it. I’ve gotten pretty quick at putting it together and fluffing out the branches. I also put away nearly all my normal, year round decor and replace it with Christmas stuff. Usually while all this is going on, I have my Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack playing in the background.

Now you may think I’m totally crazy, but if you think about it this way – all the cleaning and moving of heavy objects and decorating really burns some calories. That means a bit less of a caloric impact at Thanksgiving dinner, right? 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Thanksgiving Searching for Something New?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

