Fall!

November 17, 2010 at 10:02 am Leave a comment

The leaves are turning colors and despite it being a so far, unseasonably warm November, it IS November. I love this month. I think fall is my favorite season. The air is crisp, but not bitter cold yet. You get some really nice days of sun that aren’t too hot like during the summer. I love the colors of the trees. Whoever had a hand in advising which trees to plant in my town was awesome. Nearly every freeway on or off ramp has a grouping of Chinese pistache which in the fall turn brilliant colors. One street near my apartment is lined with flowering pear which in the fall turn a deep red that is almost purple in some of them. Another street near my work is an explosion of gold ginko trees. It’s really fun to see all the variety.

Another reason I love this time of year are all the holidays. We get them one right after another starting in October with Halloween and ending with New Year’s. I know in this day and age, it’s not ‘trendy’ or p.c. to admit to liking Christmas, but you know what? That’s other’s opinion and I have every right to mine. So yes, I DO enjoy the holiday season. I just wish others would respect my right to enjoy it as much as I respect theirs to not. Instead, I put up with constant grumbling about how much they hate this time of year, how stressed out they are with everything they need to get done, bah humbug, etc. etc.

Anyway….getting off my soapbox there….

Also for my family, there is the added bonus of two birthdays, one of them mine 🙂 Most of the time, it gets overshadowed by Thanksgiving and everyone is super busy, but it’s still something fun for me. I remember as a kid, my birthday was a huge thing that I got excited about starting around Halloween. And then when I figured out about wish lists, I started thinking of my birthday around August. That was when my younger sister celebrated her birthday, so it would get me thinking. Isn’t it ironic how as kids we can’t wait to get older fast enough and then some time around 30 we wonder why we were in such a rush to get here and then wish we could reverse time? As I am steadily on the one way street down my 30’s, the excitement of a birthday isn’t as huge any more. This year, I gave my family my wish list close to Halloween, which for me is pretty late.

Or it means that the memory is going as I get older…. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Hot Chocolate! Quick and Dirty Update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


