A Complaint…

November 9, 2010 at 4:11 pm 1 comment

Ok, I try to keep it pretty positive on here and not make everyone listen to my rants, but I need to complain. If you don’t feel like listening to artistic grievances, you may want to find another thing to look at on the web  right now.

Anyway, I’ve been getting some inquiries in my inbox that go along the vein of ‘I really like your art! I want to start a business and need a logo. Would you do one for me?’ to which I reply, ‘Thanks for contacting me. Yes, I would do a logo, here are my rates’ and then it’s cue the crickets and they drop off the face of the earth. Or the other scenario is ‘I really like that item you crafted! How much?’ and then I tell them and they kinda back off and go ‘Oh. Really? That much? Can you take off [so and so amount so that I don’t even make a profit]’. Cue more crickets. Another one is ‘I really like your art and want to use it on t-shirts to sell. Can I have the rights to your design?’

ARGH! Geez people….

I’m sorry, but am tired of people wanting something for nothing. It’s like they disregard the fact that someone put creative energy and time into coming up with the design. And that not all artists want to be starving. I do like to eat every now and then. And pay my rent. My ultimate dream is to be able to fully support myself through my art, but that won’t happen if I give away designs to everyone who asks. I guess I should be grateful that at least they are asking and not just helping themselves to my stuff carte blanche. At least for now….

So here’s my plea to whoever reads this – remember, that someone took the time to come up with the art that you are buying and that they put a lot of time, energy and effort into it! Support your artists!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Hooray for the Pumpkin Pie! Holiday Designs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ezra Engle  |  November 9, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    You need to own the entire process of tee shirt production if you want to make good profits. Customers know what they like, and not having a retail presence hinders spontaneous gift purchases. You should approach people you want to work with, rather than waiting for opportunists to exploit your work. I make tee shirts, but only when people order them from me. Find a local retailer that sells unique gifts and shirts, show them your portfolio, and sample shirts, and you may find that more promising than your online third party storefront strategy. It is a lot easier to adjust to the market you are addressing when seeing them face to face.
    -Ezra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


