Hooray for the Pumpkin Pie!

November 8, 2010 at 4:21 pm Leave a comment

One year, I bought a pumpkin with the intent of carving it up for Halloween. For whatever reason (I suspect I was super busy sewing a last minute costume. It’s my M.O.), I didn’t get around to it and was then stuck with this big, orange gourd staring back at me. I felt bad just chucking it or letting it dissolve slowly into a pile of mush so I thought, hey, I’ll make it into a pie. I jumped on the internet to find recipes. I had wanted to make a pumpkin pie from scratch just cause for a long time. Yes, I like to do everything the hard way. Anyway, after some searching, I found out that your standard jack-o-lantern pumpkin isn’t really that good for pie after all. They tend to run more on the stringy aspect, less on the taste. So I learned about sugar pie pumpkins. I had seen them in the stores each fall and just thought that they were just cute, smaller pumpkins. They are a bit more orange and usually kind of squat or perfectly round. Like I said, cute pumpkins!

I found a recipe, bought a pumpkin and got to work. It really wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I really like the way the steaming pumpkin makes the apartment smell and it’s even better when the actual pie is cooking. I took it home that year for Thanksgiving and everyone agreed that it was really good and so another holiday tradition was born. Now, every year I eagerly await the arrival of the sugar pie pumpkins at the farmers market or grocery stores. I just got one for 2010 and am planning on making the first pie of the season soon.

I needed a fall design in the shops and have yet to come up with a kawaii turkey, so I decided on a slice of pumpkin pie. And what’s pumpkin pie without a healthy dollop of whipped cream? Like Devo says, ‘you must whip it, whip it good!’

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Facebook Challenge A Complaint…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

