Pressure!

November 1, 2010 at 3:52 pm Leave a comment

Recently, I took on a commission for some artwork in a Chinese watercolor style. Watercolor isn’t my strongest medium, but I have used it before and I figured I could figure it out. Well, that was before I discovered that Chinese watercolor is a whole different ballgame compared to the kind I’m used to. You don’t stretch the paper before hand because it gets stretched after it’s done when it’s mounted. Also, the paper is rice paper and the colors are a bit different in that they have more um, glue? absorbancey? so that they don’t run during the mounting process which involves moisture.

For the past few days, I have been fighting with the colors and trying to get them to do what I want them to do. I keep getting these ugly lines where the paint seems to congregate around the edges, like water stains. And when I try to do other parts, it bleeds out WAY further than I wanted. And don’t even get me started on the ink! It doesn’t help that my brushes are all pretty cruddy too. I either have them too small or too rough (that would be all my large ones). I hope this whole things works out cause I don’t want to let the person down, but man, it’s been quite an adventure. Now to go back to YouTube and look up online tutorials…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Happy Halloween! Bad Puns…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


