Happy Halloween!

October 30, 2010 at 3:19 pm Leave a comment

I think my favorite thing about Halloween is getting to dress up and go about your day in a fun costume. I had a brief period of time where I was ‘too cool’ for that sort of thing, but I got over it really fast. This year was a special Halloween that I got to celebrate early with 2 of my good friends.

Each year, Disneyland has Mickey’s Halloween Party, a special event on certain nights of the week throughout October. Usually, it is in California Adventure, but this year due to the construction in that park, they moved it to Disneyland. One of the fun parts of the celebration is that adults can wear costumes in the Disney parks, something normally limited to the children. When I found out through my Facebook newsfeed that it was being moved to Disneyland itself, I immediately got a hold of Carrie and Lisa, my 2 other Disneyland freak friends and we all agreed we HAD to go. How often can you take a picture in front of the castle or on the carousel in full costume? Close to a year ago, one of my friends had given me gift cards with enough amount to pay for admission since my plans to celebrate my birthday there fell through that year. I was so bummed because that was when they were doing the ‘get in free on your birthday’ and had all kinds of fun stuff going on that year. My friend knew how sad I was to miss something I had been looking forward to for nearly a year so gave me the gift cards so that I could go another time. I had held on to them, waiting for a time when I could go with Carrie and Lisa. It worked out perfectly for the Halloween event. Since it’s a special event with a bit of shorter hours, the price is cheaper than a full day pass to the parks so I was able to cover my ticket and half of Carrie’s. Lisa picked up her other half (we REALLY wanted her to go).

Tickets bought, we then started the conversation about what we wanted to do for our costumes, which is harder than you think! The rides are fully operating for the most part so that ruled out large hoop skirts (there went the Glinda from ‘Wicked’ idea) and things that could fly off like wigs. I didn’t want to have to carry around accessories (goodbye anything with a want or staff or sword like Xena) and it’s a family event so the costume had to be family friendly. I’m not saying that I usually dress in something totally sexy, but I think that Chun Li from Street Fighter would have been a bit much. So I ended up with a Queen of Hearts lolita style dress design. I know that lolita style isn’t usually made with glittery fabric, but hey, this is Disneyland. I think I can be forgiven a bit of glitter there. Lisa went as Slinky Dog from Toy Story and Carrie was a pirate in a nod to one of her favorite rides there, Pirates of the Caribbean.

We had a ton of fun roaming around the park, riding the rides and trick or treating. I haven’t done that in ages. They had stations set up in different areas of the park and they had given us small bags when we entered. I thought that it was going to be a little candy here and there, but in the end, we all came home with about 2lbs each. What a haul! It was definitely a ton of fun and we are already talking about what we want to be next year. Hope it works out  to go again!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

No Guilt Cupcakes Pressure!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

