No Guilt Cupcakes

October 29, 2010 at 5:09 pm Leave a comment

I admit, I love cupcakes and I love how they are all over the place right now. Yes, they are trendy, but I still get happy whenever I see them. I don’t like what they do to my waistline though. Why is it that everything that tastes so good is so bad for you? ARGH!

Anyway, one year for my birthday, a friend gave me a fake cupcake. I like to do crafty things and thought that this would be a fun thing to try out. I did some searching online and one tutorial mentioned using expanding foam. I gave it a try and it was an epic fail. I’m not sure how they did it, but my cupcakes did not look like what I wanted them to look like. They started out promising, but since I lack a magic wand to stop them at that perfect cupcake shape, they over expanded into cream colored domes. They looked like Chinese steamed pork buns. I drew some faces on them and friends said that they looked totally cute as pork buns, but I didn’t want pork buns! Some how, kawaii pork buns doesn’t have the same ring as kawaii cupcakes. It was back to the internet….

More searching and I came across this wonderful tutorial on Sugar and Meringue on making them using plaster, styrofoam, paper clay and spackle. This version definitely has more steps and materials involved, but I finally had success! I am excited to make more.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

I Show Up Where?? Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

