I’ve Found the Mothership

October 4, 2010 at 8:42 am Leave a comment

I’ve heard of deviantART, mostly through image searches on Google when I was looking for things (usually cute Japanese fabrics or costume ideas for anime characters). Occasionally, my search words would turn up a result on deviantART. Finally, I decided to set up an account. It was around the time that I was all on fire to promote the heck out of Kimchi Kawaii and doing the shop overhaul. Boy, I wish I had done it sooner. I’ve been having so much fun on there! I really feel like I’ve reconnected with the creative mothership or something.

I’ve always liked doing art. It’s who I am for sure. In college, I even chose art as a major, but I was too shy (and honestly, having too much fun with the friends I made) to really get involved in the art community there. For the longest time, it’s been me pretty much sailing along on my own. Then I got signed up on this site which is like Facebook for artists and even though I’ve never met any of these people in person, I feel a connection through our art. I love going on there and just looking through the new uploads or new entries to the groups I’ve joined. It’s also been an inspiration to me and forcing me to keep improving my art, something that I think I needed. I’m already pushing myself harder to do new stuff in Illustrator.

One of the random things on there is giving llama badges. Why a llama? I have no idea, but they seem to be coveted. The more llamas you get, the more your llama upgrades. I think I’m up to super llama or something so now on my profile, my llama has a cape flapping in the wind. It really has no point and only exists to be fun. It also got me inspired to do my own Kimchi Kawaii version of a llama. So here it is!

And by the way, if you are on deviantART and want to give me more llamas (a girl can never have too many apparently), the link to my deviantART site is on the right hand side of this blog. 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Who Said Anything About Fall??? Beware the Ninja Squirrel

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


