Rabbit in the Moon

September 21, 2010 at 5:42 am Leave a comment

According to Asian legend, there is a rabbit in the moon who is eternally pounding either the elixir of life or rice cakes depending on which culture is telling the story. I had heard of the Rabbit in the Moon, also known as Jade Rabbit when I was a kid and read ‘In the Year of the Boar and Jackie Robinson’ by Bette Bao Lord. It’s one of my favorite young adult novels about a Chinese girl who travels to America and tells her adventures trying to fit into this new home.

Last year I was reminded of the legend when I visited a friend in San Francisco about this time and we happened upon the Mid Autumn Festival in Chinatown. I thought it would be fun to do a sketch of it, kawaii style of course. I did the sketch in January of this year and then uploaded it into my ‘sketches’ folder. (I use hand drawn sketches as templates for my Illustrator art). Then, today I was reminded that the festival was coming around again and decided that I needed a break from all the sewing and fun with fake cupcakes (long story), so did it up in the final form tonight. So here it is đŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Arrrrr! National Coffee Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,386 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos

