Who Needs Sleep Anyway??

September 2, 2009 at 4:38 am Leave a comment

I know, it’s been a while since I posted on here. It’s been a very busy few weeks!

In August, Kimchi Kawaii turned 1 year old. It was a rather quiet birthday as I hope to throw a Kawaii party later in the Fall once things calm down around here. To celebrate, I designed a logo for the name, bought a website, made new promo cards and opened another online shop. Whew.

First – the logo. It took me a while and a few scrapped ideas before I came up with something I liked. Being that the name combines Korean and Japanese cultures, I wanted a logo that also reflected this. I looked through my books on Korean art and flipped through my scrapbooks of my trip to Seoul to get inspiration. I decided on the tiger since Korean tigers (now extinct) are so prevelant in traditional Korean art. The tiger is sitting upright with it’s right paw raised in the style of the Japanese beckoning cats. The other paw rests on a traditional kimchi jar. Now if only I could figure out how to post pictures in the blog here, I would have an example. You can see it in the shop if you click on the links to the right.

Which brings me to the shop….where to start?? If you read one of the previous posts, you would come across a brief grumble about Cafe Press’s new marketplace pricing policy that started in June this year. Basically, all items I sell through the marketplace (where 99% of my sales come from) are set by Cafe Press at a 10% profit for me. They also took away all the links to the sellers’ shops, making it pretty impossible for strangers to find the actual shop where the seller still controls the markup. My brief grumble has turned into a large dissatisfaction, especially when I found out the gross difference in what they made and what I made for the three months after this new policy. Let’s just say, they could go on vacation somewhere and I couldn’t even afford a round trip flight to L.A.. I started researching other print on demand sites and a lot of forums were recommending Zazzle. After reading through nearly their entire help desk and legal stuff, I decided to give them a try. So far, they aren’t screwing over their sellers… For the last few days, I have been working on getting the Zazzle shop up and with a decent inventory. Currently, there isn’t the variety in my shop that there is in the Cafe Press one, but I’m slowly getting there.

The website is still a work in progress, but I hope to possibly have things up in time for the holidays.

I still work a full time job at the university which means that I put in my 8 hours there and then come home and put in another 5-6 hours on Kimchi Kawaii. This translates into little sleep for me. I can’t remember burning this much midnight oil in a long time. I think I even got to bed earlier and more consistantly when I was in college!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Only in Davis…. Bad Blogger

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,385 other followers


